Generic Program

The ultimate flexible program starts out totally ignorant. It uses a database to determine “the best thing to do at a particular time.”

The database returns: what to do (action), and how to do it (method).

How to do it, also know as the method:

  • Do it and report success or failure.
  • Do it and report what happened at each step.
  • Do it and report how long it took, along with success or failure.

Success or Failure reports include:

  • I don’t know how to do that action.
  • I don’t know the method in which you want me to do that.
  • I don’t know how to do that action, nor do I know the method in which you want me to do that.
  • I tried to do that action, but it was unsuccessful. The method was successful.
  • I tried to do that action using the method you wanted me to, but the method was unsuccessful.
  • I tried to do that action using that method, but something went wrong. I don’t know if it was the action, or the method used.
  • I did it. Success.
Leave a Reply

